$9.99 Freight per order | Free Shipping on orders $150+

International orders- email for an accurate freight quote.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty

Continue Shopping

Agar agar powder

by Amber Fairweather |

What is agar agar? 

Symbiota agar agar powder is a vegan alternative to gelatine. It is sourced from a red algae found in Germany and is of extremely high quality.

Agar agar can be sourced in either a powder form or in flakes. Please note, the dosing quantities for the powder and flakes differ. It should also be very carefully measured out for use as it sets very quickly, much faster than gelatine.  

Is agar more potent than gelatin? 

Agar is far more potent than gelatin, one teaspoon of agar powder, or one tablespoon of agar agar flakes is equivalent to approximately 8 teaspoons of gelatin powder when dissolved in one cup of liquid.  

Does agar agar need to be heated? 

Agar agar is derived from seaweed and is often used as a thickener or coagulant when dissolved in liquids. It has a higher melting point, rather than dissolving in the mouth.

It is an extremely useful and popular thickening agent used in vegetarians and vegan cuisines to thicken gel-like foods and stabilize sauces. Agar sets more firmly at room temperature, and is therefore better suited for purposes of a gelling agent than a thickening agent. If you are vegan and looking for a thickening agent for soups or sauces, non-GMO cornstarch may be a better option. Alternative gelatin works well for thickening sauces but is not suitable for vegans and vegetarians as this is made from animal products.

Some people use xanthan gum as a thickening agent, this can be switched with agar agar a a ratio of 1:1.  

What recipes is agar agar used in? 


Agar powder can be used for a variety of applications in common cooking, such as deserts, thickening sauces, mouses, ice-creams, custards, cheesecakes, jellies and aspics. While agar agar does not directly relate to fermentation, it is our go to product for thickening vegan yogurts or making probiotic gummies for kids. It is a great product for absorbing toxins from the gut and carrying the toxic waste safely out the body through the gastrointestinal tract.  

Is agar agar safe to use for vegans, coeliacs and diabetics? 

Agar agar has no nutritional values; it contains no gluten, cholesterol, calories or carbohydrates.